RD Premature Closure Rules
Closing an RD early — penalty, revised interest, bank-wise rules, and partial withdrawal or loan alternatives.
Updated 30 September 2026What you need to know
You can usually close an RD before maturity. The bank pays interest at the rate applicable for the period the RD actually ran, minus a penalty (typically 0.5%–1%). Some banks pay no interest if the RD is closed within the first few months. Post Office RD can be closed after 3 years.
Bank-wise rules
| Bank | Minimum instalment | Missed / late instalment | Premature closure |
|---|---|---|---|
| State Bank of India | ₹100 (multiples of ₹10) | Nominal penalty for delayed instalment, varies with instalment amount | 1% penalty; rate as per bank deposit policy |
| HDFC Bank | ₹500 (steps of ₹100); ₹1,000 online | Interest on daily balances if instalments pending at maturity | 1% charge; no interest if closed before lock-in |
| ICICI Bank | ₹500 (multiples of ₹100) | ₹12 per ₹1,000 per month of delay, deducted from maturity interest | 0.50%–1.50% penalty depending on tenure and deposit size |
| Axis Bank | ₹500 | ₹10 per ₹1,000 per month (RDs opened after Aug 2016) | Rate 1% below that applicable for period held |
| Punjab National Bank | Rs 100/month, multiples of Rs 1 | Rs 1 per Rs 100 per month | Allowed; 1% penal interest on applicable rate |
| Bank of Baroda | ₹50 | As per bank rules | 1% on applicable/agreed rate (deposits <12 months or ₹5 lakh–₹1 crore); ₹1 crore+: 31 days' notice, 1.5% deduction |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | ₹100 | Penal interest of RD rate + 2% p.a. for the month of delay | Lower of contracted/holding-period rate minus 0.5%–1%; no interest if closed within 1 month |
| YES Bank | Rs 1,000/month | 1% charged for missed instalments | Allowed; charges may apply (none on Flexigain RD) |
| Union Bank of India | ₹100 | No penalty for missed instalments (Union Monthly Plus) | Allowed; interest for completed period at applicable rate, penalty per bank policy |
| Bandhan Bank | Rs 100/month, multiples of Rs 1 | Nominal penalty as per bank rules | Allowed; 1% penalty |
| IndusInd Bank | ₹1,000 | Nominal penalty on late/defaulted instalments (amount not stated) | Allowed; interest recalculated for actual tenure, less penalty |
| Central Bank of India | Rs 100/month, multiples of Rs 50 | Rs 1.50 per Rs 100 (up to 5 yrs); Rs 2.00 per Rs 100 (above 5 yrs) | Allowed; 1% penal interest |
| IDBI Bank | Rs 500/month (SSP) | As per bank rules | Allowed; 1% reduction in applicable rate |
| Karnataka Bank | ₹50 | Missed instalments can be paid later with a small charge | Penalty 0.50% (below Rs 2 crore) / 1.00% (above Rs 2 crore) on applicable rate |
| South Indian Bank | ₹100 | Rs 1.50 per Rs 100 per month beyond grace period | 1% penalty |
| Tamilnad Mercantile Bank | — | Penal interest if instalment delayed beyond 30 days; account may be closed if >3 months in arrears (1% penalty on closure) | Permitted per bank's RD rules (1% penalty on bank-initiated closure) |
| Canara Bank | Rs 50/month (Nitya Nidhi); Flexi RD Rs 500 | As per bank rules | As per bank rules |
| Bank of India | Rs 500/month (Flexi RD Rs 1,000) | Rs 1.50 per Rs 100 per month (up to 5 yrs); Rs 2.00 per Rs 100 (above 5 yrs) | Below Rs 5 lakh: 0.50% penalty if before 12 months, none after; Rs 5 lakh+: 1% penalty |
| Indian Bank | ₹100 | Nominal penalty on late/missed instalments (amount not stated) | Allowed; interest at rate for actual tenure run, less applicable penalty |
| Indian Overseas Bank | ₹50 | Nominal penalty for late instalments (rate not stated) | Allowed; 0.5%-1% penalty, interest recalculated for actual tenure |
| Federal Bank | Rs 50/month, multiples of Rs 10 | As per bank rules | Permitted at reduced interest per bank rules |
| DBS Bank India | Rs 100/month | As per bank rules | Allowed; may attract charges or lower interest |
| Dhanlaxmi Bank | Rs 1,000/month, multiples of Rs 500 | Nominal penalty (rate not specified) | No interest if closed within 12 months; after 12 months interest for actual tenure less 1% |
| Punjab & Sind Bank | ₹10 | As per bank rules | Allowed; nominal penal charges (amount not stated) |
| Saraswat Co-operative Bank | ₹500 | Penalty may be levied on delayed instalments (amount not stated) | 1% below applicable rate for period deposit remained with bank |
| UCO Bank | ₹100 | Interest may be computed differently (daily balance basis) on missed/delayed instalments | 1% if closed within 1 year, 0.5% after 1 year (Sowbhagya RD) |
Alternatives to closing
- Take a loan or overdraft against the RD (commonly up to 80%–90% of the balance).
- Pause by paying missed instalments later with the penalty, if the bank allows.
- Post Office RD allows a loan of up to 50% of the balance after 12 instalments.
Frequently asked questions
Will I lose all interest?
No, you get interest for the period held at a reduced rate — unless you close within a very short initial period at some banks.
For information and comparison only. Confirm rates and rules with your bank or post office.